Skip to main content

Branch Resources

Tips for version 2

  • Keep related and consistent information in the same place on each page (like the library contact info and librarian box)
  • Manage expectations by including the scope of the guide and annotations for links
  • Most people are not willing to look through long lists of links, unless they are very defined with narrow content under each option.  Version 2 offers tabbed boxes, which are a good option to limit the density of information on one page.
  • To change the indentation on bullets in rich text:
    • In the rich text editor, click on the Source button to view the html code and then in the <ul> tag add: style="margin-left:-20px;".

 

  • When the text in the description of a link or database is not cooperating (For example, it wouldn't recognize when I pressed "enter" for a new line):
    • Copy and past the text into the rich text editor, click source code.  Copy the html, and paste it back into the link or database description field.

Upload and Access icons under "Content - Assets - Icons"

LibGuides primarily uses Hex colour codes, but can also convert other colour codes. 

Here they are for the above document:

Loading ...

Reusing and Mapping content

Guides cannot be mapped, only copied, meaning changes you make on one will not affect the other.  However copying will also duplicate all the content assets, which you may want to re-map (by deleting one link and reusing the mapped version).  Copying may be a good way to test changes without disturbing the current users.

Make the guide:

 

Choose a guide to copy:

 

View and delete guide from here:

 

You may choose to copy or map a page. 

  • Changes on a copied pages will not affect each other.  However, it will make duplicates of content assets in the asset database.
  • Mapping a page means it will remain a replica of the original, and you may only edit the original. This is for when you want the same page on multiple guides.

Make the page:

Would you like to copy or map the page?

 

Delete the page:

When mapped this option will say "removed mapped page".  When copied this option will say "delete page"

 

 

To reuse a box:

Boxes can also be copied or mapped.

  • Copy a box if you want to edit the new version separately.  This will duplicate all the content assets in the box.
  • Map a box if you want it to remain exactly the same as the original.  You may only edit the original mapped box.

There is no list of box assets like there are for guides or databases.  Click on the recycling symbol to find the original instance and where it is being reused. You may want to keep commonly used boxes in the templates page so they are easy to find and update.

 

The following types of content are considered assets:

 

Note: the maximum size for a document is 20 MB.

Before you add a link, always check to see if its in the system to prevent duplication!  (You may also want to check if it is on the database list). 

 

Rich text boxes are not mapped, so if you add a link this way it will not be mapped either!

When you are reusing assets and databases there may already be a description.  Entering your own overwrites the original description for that instance of the content item.

Deleting a content asset from a box will not delete it from the system.  Edit or delete the original asset from here:

 

 

Images are always inserted via the rich text editor.  They are not in the asset database. 

If you want to map images, they are stored in their own separate database.  Upload your image before inserting into a box. (Maximum size 5MB).  Best practice is to select the shared library for your image.  Note: you cannot rename the image after you upload it.

--------

To select the image from the rich text editor press the tiny image icon (I always try double clicking and it never works)

 

Loading ...